Invoice Workform
The Invoice workform contains information regarding an invoice for materials or services. An invoice can contain information copied from a purchase order, or it can be created without a purchase order. The top section of the invoice workform displays the invoice number and suffix, the type of invoice, its status, date created, the number of titles or lines, the total dollar amount, and the payment method. See Invoicing.
- Receive purchase order line items - Select Tools > Rapid Receipt or click
. See Use Rapid Receipt to receive line items from an invoice. - Distribute charges - Select Tools > Distribute Charges, or click
. See Distributing/Adjusting Invoice Charges/Credits. - Distribute credits or discounts - Select Tools > Distribute Credits/Discounts, or click
. See Distributing/Adjusting Invoice Charges/Credits. - Adjust charges - Select Tools > Adjust Charges, or click
. See Crediting Invoices. - Distribute sales tax - Select Tools > Distribute > Sales Tax or click
. See Add a tax dollar amount on an invoice. - Link the invoice to another invoice - Select Tools > Link Invoice or click
. See Link an invoice to another invoice. - Unlink the invoice - If the invoice is linked to another invoice, Linked invoices appears in the status bar. Select Tools > Unlink Invoice or click
. See Unlink a linked invoice. - Pay the invoice - Select Tools > Pay, or click
. See Crediting Invoices. You can pay a miscellaneous invoice that has no line items or the line items have not been received. - Undo the payment - If the invoice was paid in error, you can select Tools > Undo payment, or click
. See Undo the invoice payment. - Delete the invoice - Select File > Delete, or click
. - Print the invoice - Select File > Print, or click
. - Print the invoice if it is paid - Select File > Print > Invoice Voucher (Summary), or Invoice Voucher (Full). The invoice voucher appears in the Report Preview window. If you selected Invoice Voucher (Summary), the voucher displays only the fund totals and the grand totals. If you selected Invoice Voucher (Full), each line item is displayed.
- Enter or view the library, supplier, and fund - Select View > General or click
. - Add or view line items - Select View > Line Items, or click
. See Adding Invoice Line Items. - View the payment history - Select View > Payment History, or click
. - Enter the invoice number - Type the number for the invoice in the Number box. The invoice number can be up to 30 characters in length. You can edit the invoice number until the invoice is paid.
- Enter the invoice number suffix - You can enter a suffix to make it easier to search for the invoice. For example, you can enter a user name or a supplier name. The invoice number suffix can be up to 8 characters in length. You can edit the invoice number suffix until the invoice is paid.
- Enter the invoice date - If the date is different from today’s date, type the date or click
and select it from the calendar that pops up. - Specify the invoice type - Select an invoice type in the Type box. You can create an invoice without a purchase order when you have an approval plan An arrangement with a publisher or vendor to send materials automatically. With an approval plan, it is not necessary for the library to order each title individually, and titles that are not considered appropriate may be returned by the library. An approval plan with a vendor is usually an agreement that the library will receive current imprints selected for the library on the basis of a detailed profile. or blanket order where the supplier sends specific types of material, but the individual titles are not known until they are received. If you want to create an invoice for charges other than for materials, you can create a miscellaneous invoice. Line items on miscellaneous invoices are not linked to bibliographic records. See Create a miscellaneous invoice.
- Select the payment method - When a purchase order with a payment method of Prepaid or Depository Agreement is released, an invoice is automatically created with a matching number and payment method. You can select Depository Agreement on a new invoice without a matching purchase order. When you add invoice line item segments, and choose the funds to pay for the items, only funds with a fund type of Deposit Account will be available.
Invoice Workform - General View
Use the General view of the Invoice workform to:
- Select the library receiving the invoice or shipment - Select the library in the Paid By Name box. Enter the library’s SAN, if applicable, and the plan type.
- Specify the payment terms and the fund - Use the Terms Due Date box and the Fund box.
- Select the supplier who sent the invoice - Click Find to search for and select the supplier. You do not need to select a supplier for a miscellaneous invoice.
- Specify how and when the invoice was sent and received -
- Select how the invoice was sent in the Transmission Method box.
- Enter dates in the Shipped Date and Receipt Date boxes.
- If you want to enter a note regarding this invoice, type it in the General note box.
- If the file was sent via EDI, the file name appears in the EDI filename box.
- To alert users that the invoice should be closed by a certain date (meaning no payments or credits should be made after this date), enter the date in the Closing alert date box.
- Specify the payment setup terms - Select Due date and enter a date, or select days and type the number of days.
-
Enter or change charges for the invoice as a whole (header charges) - In the Header Charges frame, select a charge type, enter an amount, and select a fund. See Add or change invoice header charges and credits.
Invoice Workform - Line Items View
Use the Line Items view of the Invoice workform to:
- Sort the invoice line items by the contents of a specific column - Click a column header. Click the same column header a second time to reverse the sort order.
- Display detailed information about an invoice item - Double-click an invoice line item, or right-click and select Open. The Invoice Line Item workform appears.
- Go to other records linked to the invoice line items - Select the line item in the list, right-click and select Link from the context menu. Then, select the type of record that you want to open. If there are multiple linked records of the type you selected, they appear in a list box. Select the specific record from the list box.
- Add line items to the invoice - Click
above the list of line items. The Invoice Line Item workform appears. - Delete line items from the invoice - Select the item, and click
. Or, right-click, and select Delete on the context menu. - Receive an invoice line item - Select the item or items, right-click and select Receive.
- Create item records - Select the invoice line item, right-click and select Create > Item Records.
- Pay invoice line items - Select an item or items and click
, or right-click and select Pay. - Credit line items - Select the line items and click
, or right-click and select Credit. - Lock the list view so you retain your place - As you work on line items in the list, you can retain your place. Click
to lock the list view. Click
to refresh the list view.
Invoice Workform - Charges View
Use the Charges View of the Invoice workform to:
- Specify the discount percentage - Type the percentage in Discount Applied Rate box.
- Specify the sales tax rate - Type the percentage in the Sales Tax Rate box.
- Specify the vendor’s charges - Use the Cataloging Services Charge, Special Handling Charge, Service Charge, Shipping Charge, and Other Charges boxes.
Invoice Workform - Payment History View
Use the Payment History view of the Invoice workform to review payments and credits involving the invoice. Click a column header to sort the list. If you want to modify the date or number for a check or voucher, right-click the line that you want to modify and select Modify Payment History. The Modify Check/Voucher Number dialog box appears. You can type a different date and/or number and click OK. The number or date is changed on the Payment History view.